Monographs on Indian Archaeology, Art and Philology

Kathrin Holz

The Bhadrakarātrī-sūtra
Apotropaic Scriptures in Early Indian Buddhism

Monographs on Indian Archaeology, Art and Philology, Vol. 27

This book examines the Bhadrakarātrī-sūtra, an important representative of early Buddhist rakṣā literature, and thereby contributes to the investigation of this literary genre. This work ultimately presents an edition, partial reconstruction, and translation of the two extant Sanskrit manuscripts found in Central Asia, as well as a critical edition and translation of the Tibetan version of this text. Special focus is also given to the Chinese and Tibetan variants of the mantras. Moreover, it highlights specific rakṣā elements, formal features, and linguistic and semantic patterns of the Bhadrakarātrī-sūtra. These are crucial for the understanding of the peculiarities of its language, as well as its textual development and classification among rakṣā literature.

Corinna Wessels-Mevissen

The Gods of the Directions in Ancient India
Origin and Early Development in Art and Literature (until c. 1000 A.D.)

Monographs on Indian Archaeology, Art and Philology, Band 14

This comprehensive study presents the origins and diverse trajectories of development of the concept of the - mostly eight - directional deities (dikpalas) in the literature and especially in the art of India in a describing and analyzing approach, with the help of an extensive illustration section. Such treatment of the material yields new insights in iconographic research on the figure art of India.

 

Sven Bretfeld

Das singhalesische Nationalepos von König Duṭṭhagāmaṇī Abhaya
Textkritische Bearbeitung und Übersetzung der Kapitel VII.3-VIII.3 der Rasavāhinī des Vedeha Thera und Vergleich mit den Paralleltexten Sahassavatthuppakaraṇa und Saddharmālaṅkāraya

Monographs on Indian Archaeology, Art and Philology, Band 13

An in-depth exploration of the authoritative "medieval" treatment of the material of the Sinhala national epic - in Pāli as the largest coherent collection of narratives in the Rasavāhinī of Vedeha and in Sinhala in the extended treatment of Dharmakīrti - is now presented for the first time in the present work by Sven Bretfeld. The significance of this material for South Asian studies goes far beyond the realm of pure textual analysis: at the center of this text is the conflict that has existed for more than two millennia between the Sinhalese and the Tamils who migrated from South India. It is precisely this conflict that, in a positive sense, led to the origin of historiography in the Indian cultural sphere, but in a negative sense led to today's civil war in Sri Lanka. Thus, with this text, made available here for the first time in a scholarly edition and translated for the first time, Sven Bretfeld has made a fundamental contribution both to traditional Indology and Buddhist studies and to a deeper understanding of the situation in Sri Lanka today.

 

Claudine Bautze-Picron

The Art of Eastern India in the Collection of the Museum für indische Kunst, Berlin
Stone & Terracotta Sculptures

Monographs on Indian Archaeology, Art and Philology, Band 12

The catalogue presents the stone sculptures and the terracottas from Eastern India which are in the possession of the Museum für Indische Kunst, Berlin. The collection is old and was assembled at a time, in the 19th and early 20th c., when the only other large Western institutions to collect art from Eastern India were the British Museum and the Victoria & Albert Museum, and in importance, it is to be placed next to the collection of the British Museum. It illustrates specific aspects of the art of eastern India, which are not so commonly collected like votive caitya.s or votive slabs, which were found at Bodh Gayā and are usually disregarded.

Ute Hüsken

Die Vorschriften für die buddhistische Nonnengemeinde im Vinaya-Piṭaka der Theravādin

Monographs on Indian Archaeology, Art and Philology, Band 11

The ordination tradition of the nuns of the Theravāda Buddhist school probably ended towards the end of the first millennium AD. Nevertheless, the rules of conduct for nuns, which, like those for monks, are regarded as Buddha's word, continue to be handed down in the collection of canonical texts. In the present study, the set of rules for nuns of the Theravāda tradition is presented starting from the special nuns' rules in the Book of Religious Discipline (Vinaya-Piṭaka) and the relevant commentary passages in the Samantapāsādikā, and compared with the rules of conduct for monks of the same tradition. This work is a revised version of my dissertation accepted in 1995 by the Department of Historico-Philological Sciences at the Georg-August University in Göttingen.

 

Herbert Härtel

Excavations at Sonkh
2500 years of a town in Mathura district

Monographs on Indian Archaeology, Art and Philology, Band 9

The present report on the excavations at the mound of Sonkh, District Mathura, incorporates a detailed account of the material remains unearthed in eight seasons (1966-74) by a team of German archaeologists sent out by the Museum of Indian Art, Berlin, under the direction of the author. It replaces the more than 20 campaign and preliminary articles in journals published through the years.

Monographien zur indischen Archäologie, Kunst und Philologie

Kathrin Holz

The Bhadrakarātrī-sūtra
Apotropaic Scriptures in Early Indian Buddhism

Monographien zur indischen Archäologie, Kunst und Philologie, Band 27

Dieses Buch untersucht das Bhadrakarātrī-sūtra, einen wichtigen Vertreter der frühen buddhistischen rakṣā-Literatur, und leistet damit einen Beitrag zur Erforschung dieser Literaturgattung. Diese Arbeit präsentiert schließlich eine Edition, Teilrekonstruktion und Übersetzung der beiden erhaltenen Sanskrit-Manuskripte, die in Zentralasien gefunden wurden sowie eine kritische Edition und Übersetzung der tibetischen Version dieses Textes. Besonderes Augenmerk wird auch auf die chinesischen und tibetischen Varianten der Mantras gelegt. Außerdem werden spezifische rakṣā-Elemente, formale Merkmale sowie sprachliche und semantische Muster des Bhadrakarātrī-sūtra hervorgehoben. Diese sind entscheidend für das Verständnis der Besonderheiten seiner Sprache sowie seiner textlichen Entwicklung und Einordnung in die rakṣā-Literatur.

Corinna Wessels-Mevissen

The Gods of the Directions in Ancient India
Origin and Early Development in Art and Literature (until c. 1000 A.D.)

Monographien zur indischen Archäologie, Kunst und Philologie, Band 14

Die Ursprünge und vielfältigen Entwicklungsstränge des Konzepts der - zumeist acht - Richtungsgottheiten (dikpalas) in der Literatur und vor allem in der Kunst Indiens werden in dieser umfassenden Studie anhand eines umfangreichen Abbildungsteils beschreibend und analysierend vorgestellt. Aus dieser Behandlung des Stoffes ergeben sich neue Erkenntnisse in der ikonographischen Forschung zur figurativen Kunst Indiens.

Sven Bretfeld

Das singhalesische Nationalepos von König Duṭṭhagāmaṇī Abhaya
Textkritische Bearbeitung und Übersetzung der Kapitel VII.3-VIII.3 der Rasavāhinī des Vedeha Thera und Vergleich mit den Paralleltexten Sahassavatthuppakaraṇa und Saddharmālaṅkāraya

Monographien zur indischen Archäologie, Kunst und Philologie, Band 13

Eine eingehende Erforschung der maßgeblichen „mittelalterlichen" Bearbeitung des Stoffes des singhalesischen Nationalepos - in Pāli als größte zusammenhängende Sammlung von Erzählungen in der Rasavähinī von Vedeha und in singhalesischer Sprache in der erweiterten Bearbeitung von Dharmakīrti - wird nun erstmals in der vorliegenden Arbeit von Sven Bretfeld vorgelegt. Die Bedeutung dieses Stoffes für die Südasienforschung geht weit über den Bereich der reinen Texterschließung hinaus: Im Mittelpunkt dieses Textes steht der seit mehr als zwei Jahrtausenden bestehende Konflikt zwischen Singhalesen und den aus Südindien zugewanderten Tamilen. Es ist eben dieser Konflikt, der im positiven Sinne zum Ursprung der Geschichtsschreibung im indischen Kulturbereich, im negativen Sinn aber zum heutigen Bürgerkrieg in Sri Lanka geführt hat. So hat Sven Bretfeld mit diesem hier zum ersten Mal in einer wissenschaftlichen Ausgabe zugänglich gemachten und erstmalig übersetzten Text einen grundlegenden Beitrag sowohl für die traditionelle Indologie und Buddhismusforschung als auch für ein tieferes Verständnis der heutigen Situation in Sri Lanka geleistet.

Ute Hüsken

Die Vorschriften für die buddhistische Nonnengemeinde im Vinaya-Piṭaka der Theravādin

Monographien zur indischen Archäologie, Kunst und Philologie, Band 11

Wohl gegen Ende des ersten nachchristlichen Jahrtausends endete die Ordinationstradition der Nonnen der buddhistischen Theravāda-Schule. Dennoch werden auch die Verhaltensvorschriften der Nonnen, die ebenso wie die der Mönche als Buddhawort gelten, in der Sammlung der kanonischen Texte weiterhin überliefert. In der vorliegenden Untersuchung wird das Regelkonvolut für Nonnen der Theravāda-Tradition ausgehend von den besonderen Nonnenregeln im Buch der Ordensdisziplin (Vinaya-Piṭaka) und den relevanten Kommentarstellen in der Samantapāsādikā dargestellt und mit den Verhaltensvorschriften für die Mönche derselben Überlieferung verglichen. Die Arbeit ist eine überarbeitete Fassung meiner 1995 vom Fachbereich Historisch-Philologische Wissenschaften der Georg-August-Universität in Göttingen angenommenen Dissertation.