Gentle Round the Curves
How to cite this title

Riemenschneider, Dieter: Gentle Round the Curves: Selected Essays on Indian Writing in English, Heidelberg ; Berlin: CrossAsia-eBooks, 2019 (2016). https://doi.org/10.11588/xabooks.581

More citation styles
Licenses

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License 4.0
(CC BY-SA 4.0)
.

Identifiers
ISBN 978-3-946742-67-8 (PDF)

Published 11.11.2019.

The book was originally published in 2016 with Tranzlit, Kronberg im Taunus. ISBN: 978-3-9815115-1

Statistics


Dieter Riemenschneider

Gentle Round the Curves

Selected Essays on Indian Writing in English

The fifteen essays of the volume Gentle Round the Curves are a selection of my numerous publications on the English literature of India, which were written over a period of half a century. They demonstrate the increasing knowledge of a literature whose development thematically spans from the realistically described anti-colonial resistance of the thirties and forties of the 20th century to the now also formally and stylistically diverse manifestations of contemporary writing, such as 'magic realism', 'diasporan', 'feminist' and 'fantasy writing'. At the same time, these essays reflect the controversial discourse about the 'Indian quality' of texts written in a foreign language, which has not yet been concluded.

The essays deal with individual authors as well as Indian literary criticism, the first appearance of feminist short stories and modern English poetry, the view of writers beyond the borders of India as well as diasporal literature, the role of nature and landscape and their earliest pictorial representation from a foreign point of view, and texts that can be assigned to 'fantasy literature'. An introduction by the Indian colleague Professor Harish Trivedi, a bibliography and a rather nostalgic poem about the author and 'his' country conclude Gentle Round the Curves, whose title alludes not only to carefully circumventing the winding routes in the Himalayas, but also to approaching a foreign literature and culture cautiously as an 'outsider'.

Dieter Riemenschneider, Professor of English Literature at the Goethe University Frankfurt (1972-1999), focused his research and teaching activities on Anglophone literatures, and in particular on the English literature of India and African countries. The study of New Zealand literature was a supplement. Since the late 1960s of the 20th century, he has been committed to the scientific study of the literatures and cultures of the countries of the South and was co-founder of the Society for New English Literatures (https://g-a-p-s.org) in 1979. To make literary texts of these countries known in the German-speaking world through translations, he supports Litprom e.V. through his collaboration (www.litprom.de) since the early 1980s, and his publications are primarily devoted to literary historiography and literary criticism. He has also edited numerous collections of texts and translated poetry from English into German.

Contents
PDF
Title
Contents
Foreword
Preface
Early Critics of Indo-English Novelists
Meenakshi Mukherjee and M. K. Naik
Human Labour and Alienation
Mulk Raj Anand's Novels
The New Poets' Manifesto
P. Lal and Contemporary Indian English Poetry
History and the Individual
Salman Rushdie's Midnight's Children and Anita Desai's Clear Light of Day
Indian Women Writing in English
A Brief Look at Short Stories of the 1970s and Early 1980s
Marginalizing the Centre - Centring the Periphery
The Critical Debate on 'Indian' Literature in English
'In the Days When the Love Laws Were Made'
Arundhati Roy's The God of Small Things
Global Fantasy - Glocal Imagination
The New Literatures in English and their Fantastic ImagiNations
Crossing National Borders
The Indian English Novel since the 1990s
Nature and Landscape
An Evolutionary Psychological Analysis of Raja Rao's Writing
'The Train has Moved On'
R. K. Narayan's The Guide and Literary History
Glocality and its (Dis)contents
The Future of English Language Literatures Studies
The Persistence and Creation of Internal Borders
India in Aotearoa New Zealand
Translating Cultures
Pictorial and Literary Representation of India in William Hodges's Paintings and Travel Book
Retrieving Human Rights
Indra Sinha's Novel Animal's People and Critical Cosmopolitanism
Sources

Gentle Round the Curves
Empfohlene Zitierweise

Riemenschneider, Dieter: Gentle Round the Curves: Selected Essays on Indian Writing in English, Heidelberg ; Berlin: CrossAsia-eBooks, 2019 (2016). https://doi.org/10.11588/xabooks.581

Weitere Zitierweisen
Lizenz

Dieses Werk ist unter der
Creative Commons-Lizenz 4.0
(CC BY-SA 4.0)
veröffentlicht.

Identifikatoren
ISBN 978-3-946742-67-8 (PDF)

Veröffentlicht am 11.11.2019.

Die Originalausgabe erschien 2016 bei Tranzlit, Kronberg im Taunus. ISBN: 978-3-9815115-1

Statistik


Riemenschneider, Dieter

Gentle Round the Curves

Selected Essays on Indian Writing in English

Die fünfzehn Essays des Bandes Gentle Round the Curves stellen eine Auswahl meiner zahlreichen Veröffentlichungen zur englischsprachigen Literatur Indiens dar, die über einen Zeitraum von einem halben Jahrhundert entstanden. Sie belegen die zunehmende Kenntnis einer Literatur, deren Entwicklung thematisch einen Bogen schlägt vom realistisch geschilderten antikolonialen Widerstand der dreißiger und vierziger Jahre des 20. Jahrhunderts bis zu den nun auch formal wie stilistisch vielfältigen Ausprägungen gegenwärtigen Schreibens, wie ‚magic realism‘, ‚diasporan‘, ‚feminist‘ und ‚fantasy writing‘. Zugleich spiegeln diese Essays den kontroversen Diskurs um die ‚indische Qualität‘ der in einer Fremdsprache verfassten Texte wider, der bisher noch keinen Abschluss gefunden hat.

Die Essays widmen sich sowohl einzelnen Autoren wie der indischen Literaturkritik, dem ersten Auftritt feministischer Kurzgeschichten und moderner englischsprachiger Lyrik, dem Blick der Schriftsteller über die Grenzen Indiens hinweg wie der Diasporaliteratur, der Rolle von Natur und Landschaft und deren frühester bildlichen Repräsentation aus fremder Sicht sowie Texten, die der ‚fantasy literature‘ zuzuordnen sind. Eine Einführung des indischen Kollegen Professor Harish Trivedi, ein Literaturverzeichnis und ein eher nostalgisches Gedicht über den Autor und ‚sein‘ Land schließen Gentle Round the Curves ab, dessen Titel darauf anspielt, nicht nur die kurvenreichen Strecken im Himalaja vorsichtig zu umfahren, sondern sich auch als ‚Außenseiters‘ behutsam einer fremden Literatur und Kultur zu nähern. 

Dieter Riemenschneider, Professor für Englische Literatur an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt (1972-1999), legte den Schwerpunkt seiner Forschungs- und Lehrtätigkeit auf die anglophonen Literaturen, und hier insbesondere auf die englischsprachige Literatur Indiens und afrikanischer Länder. Ergänzung bildete die Beschäftigung mit der neuseeländischen Literatur. Er engagiert sich seit den späten 60er Jahren des 20. Jahrhunderts für die wissenschaftlichen Beschäftigung mit den Literaturen und Kulturen der Länder des Südens und war 1979 Mitbegründer der Gesellschaft für Neue Englischsprachige Literaturen (https://g-a-p-s.org). Literarische Texte dieser Länder durch Übersetzungen im deutschsprachigen Raum bekannt zu machen, unterstützt er durch seine Mitarbeit bei Litprom e.V. (www.litprom.de) seit den frühen 80er Jahren, und seine Veröffentlichungen widmen sich vor allem der Literaturgeschichtsschreibung und der literarkritischen Rezeption. Außerdem edierte er zahlreiche Textsammlungen und übersetzte Lyrik aus dem Englischen ins Deutsche.       

Inhaltsverzeichnis
PDF
Titel
Contents
Foreword
Preface
Early Critics of Indo-English Novelists
Meenakshi Mukherjee and M. K. Naik
Human Labour and Alienation
Mulk Raj Anand's Novels
The New Poets' Manifesto
P. Lal and Contemporary Indian English Poetry
History and the Individual
Salman Rushdie's Midnight's Children and Anita Desai's Clear Light of Day
Indian Women Writing in English
A Brief Look at Short Stories of the 1970s and Early 1980s
Marginalizing the Centre - Centring the Periphery
The Critical Debate on 'Indian' Literature in English
'In the Days When the Love Laws Were Made'
Arundhati Roy's The God of Small Things
Global Fantasy - Glocal Imagination
The New Literatures in English and their Fantastic ImagiNations
Crossing National Borders
The Indian English Novel since the 1990s
Nature and Landscape
An Evolutionary Psychological Analysis of Raja Rao's Writing
'The Train has Moved On'
R. K. Narayan's The Guide and Literary History
Glocality and its (Dis)contents
The Future of English Language Literatures Studies
The Persistence and Creation of Internal Borders
India in Aotearoa New Zealand
Translating Cultures
Pictorial and Literary Representation of India in William Hodges's Paintings and Travel Book
Retrieving Human Rights
Indra Sinha's Novel Animal's People and Critical Cosmopolitanism
Sources