How to cite this title

Rehm, Raphael Pinheiro Machado: Small scale variability in soil hydraulic properties in a headwater catchment of the Indian Western Ghats, Heidelberg ; Berlin: CrossAsia-eBooks, 2018 (Geographien Südasiens, Vol. 9). https://doi.org/10.11588/xabooks.389

More citation styles
Licenses

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License 4.0
(CC BY-SA 4.0)
.
Creative Commons License BY-SA 4.0

ISBN

978-3-946742-51-7 (PDF)

Published 17.07.2018.

Statistics


Raphael Pinheiro Machado Rehm

Small scale variability in soil hydraulic properties in a headwater catchment of the Indian Western Ghats

Geographien Südasiens

The Indian West Ghats are located in the monsoon climate with rainfalls up to over 3000 mm a year. Since the mountain chain is the source of almost all major Indian rivers, the characteristics of the headwater catchment areas are of great importance for the water balance of the entire Indian sub-continent. However, due to its proximity to the agglomeration areas of Mumbai and Pune, the previously rural Pune district in Maharashtra is facing strong demographic and economic growth and is thus increasingly affected by land use change. While these changes can be recognized from satellite data, changes in soil properties are rare avilable. Water affect a variety of physical, chemical and biological processes and by that almost every aspect of soil development and soil behavior. Conversely, the characteristics of soils for hydrological variables, such as the storage and provision of plant-available water, are crucial. In order to understand changes in the hydrology of a region, detailed knowledge of the effects of land use change on soil properties is required. This work should help to understand the characteristic of tropical soil formations in the northern Western Ghats and to show possible effects of different land uses on soil quality with a special focus on hydraulic properties.

Raphael Pinheiro Machado Rehm completed his Master in Geography at the University of Augsburg. To carry out his master thesis he got a scholarship of the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) at the Indo-German Centre for Sustainability of the IIT Madras in Chennai for a three-month study visit in India. His master thesis deals with small scale variability in soil hydraulic properties of the tropical soils of the Indian Western Ghats.

Since January 2018, Raphael Pinheiro Machado Rehm has been working as a PhD student in the MicBin project. He measures and models the export of microplastic from agriculture areas caused by soil erosion and surface runoff within the Danube catchment of Bavaria.

Empfohlene Zitierweise

Rehm, Raphael Pinheiro Machado: Small scale variability in soil hydraulic properties in a headwater catchment of the Indian Western Ghats, Heidelberg ; Berlin: CrossAsia-eBooks, 2018 (Geographien Südasiens, Band 9). DOI: 10.11588/xabooks.389

Weitere Zitierweisen
Lizenz

Dieses Werk ist unter der
Creative Commons-Lizenz 4.0
(CC BY-SA 4.0)
veröffentlicht.
Creative Commons Lizenz BY-SA 4.0

ISBN

978-3-946742-51-7 (PDF)

Veröffentlicht am 17.07.2018.

Statistik


Raphael Pinheiro Machado Rehm

Small scale variability in soil hydraulic properties in a headwater catchment of the Indian Western Ghats

Geographien Südasiens

Die indischen West Ghats unterliegen einem Monsunklima, mit Niederschlägen bis über 3000 mm im Jahr. Da die Gebirgskette den Ursprung nahezu aller großen Flüsse in Indien bildet, haben die Eigenschaften der Kopfeinzugsgebiete eine dementsprechend große Bedeutung für den Wasserhaushalt des gesamten Indischen Subkontinents. Doch der bisher ländlich geprägte Pune-Distrikt in Maharashtra, steht durch die Nähe zu den Agglomerationsräumen Mumbai und Pune, vor einem starken demografischen und wirtschaftlichen Wachstum und ist damit zunehmend von einem Landnutzungswandel betroffen. Während diese Veränderungen aus Fernerkundungsdaten erschlossen werden können, sind Daten über die Veränderung der Bodeneigenschaften nur grobskalig vorhanden. Wasser beeinflusst eine Vielzahl von physikalischen, chemischen und biologischen Prozessen in der Natur und damit fast jeden Aspekt der Bodenentwicklung. Doch umgekehrt sind die Eigenschaften der Böden für hydrologische Größen, wie beispielsweise der Speicherung und Bereitstellung von pflanzenverfügbarem Wasser, entscheidend. Um also Änderungen in der Hydrologie einer Region nachvollziehen zu können, sind detaillierte Kenntnisse über die Auswirkungen von Landnutzungsänderungen auf die Bodeneigenschaften erforderlich. Diese Arbeit soll dazu beitragen, die Charakteristik tropischer Bodenformationen in den nördlichen Western Ghats zu verstehen und mögliche Auswirkungen unterschiedlicher Landnutzungen auf die Bodenqualität unter besonderer Berücksichtigung der hydrologischen Eigenschaften aufzuzeigen.

Raphael Pinheiro Machado Rehm hat seinen Master in Geographie an der Universität Augsburg abgeschlossen. Für seine Abschlussarbeit verbrachte er einen dreimonatigen Studienaufenthalt in Indien und beschäftigte sich mit der kleinräumigen Variabilität von hydrologischen Eigenschaften tropischer Böden in den indischen West-Ghats. Für seinen Aufenthalt am IIT Madras in Chennai erhielt er im Rahmen des Indo-German Centre for Sustainability (IGCS) ein Stipendium vom Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst (DAAD).

Seit Januar 2018 arbeitet Raphael Pinheiro Machado Rehm als Doktorand in dem Verbundprojekt MicBin und beschäftigt sich mit der Messung und Modellierung von durch Bodenerosion und Oberflächenabfluss verursachten Export von Mikroplastik aus landwirtschaftlichen Flächen innerhalb des bayerischen Donaueinzugsgebietes.