How to cite this title

Herter, Marc: Development as Spectacle: Understanding Post-War Urban Development in Colombo, Sri Lanka: The Case of Arcade Independence Square, Heidelberg ; Berlin: CrossAsia-eBooks, 2017 (Geographien Südasiens, Vol. 7). DOI: 10.11588/xabooks.270.356

More citation styles
This work is licensed under a
Creative Commons License 4.0
(CC BY-SA 4.0)

ISBN 978-3-946742-30-2 (PDF)

Published 06/02/2017.


Marc Herter

Development as Spectacle: Understanding Post-War Urban Development in Colombo, Sri Lanka

The Case of Arcade Independence Square

Geographien Südasiens

This study is looking into the matter of urban development in a post-war setting. Drawing on Guy Debord’s book titled The Society of the Spectacle, it argues that urban governance has become increasingly concerned with transforming the cityscape into a space for consumption tailored to the needs of a post-industrial society. As cities compete for international prominence and business investments, urban planners turn to flagship projects as tools for city branding. In post-war Sri Lanka it is believed that economic progress will remedy grievances and detract from societal issues regarding ethnic segregation, poverty or ethno-nationalism. On the empirical case of Arcade Independence Square, a newly developed high-end shopping mall in Colombo, this study shows how the government aims to draw attention away from such issues by commissioning large-scale infrastructure projects.

Marc Herter has a Master’s degree in Human and Economic Geography from the University of Zurich. He has completed his first research project on post-war urban development in Colombo, Sri Lanka at the Department of Political Geography. He is interested in topics related to political economy, urban development, urban sociology and the interplay between power and architecture.

Empfohlene Zitierweise

Herter, Marc: Development as Spectacle: Understanding Post-War Urban Development in Colombo, Sri Lanka: The Case of Arcade Independence Square, Heidelberg ; Berlin: CrossAsia-eBooks, 2017 (Geographien Südasiens, Band 7). DOI: 10.11588/xabooks.270.356

Weitere Zitierweisen
Lizenz
Dieses Werk ist unter der
Creative Commons-Lizenz 4.0
(CC BY-SA 4.0)
veröffentlicht.
ISBN

ISBN 978-3-946742-30-2 (PDF)

Veröffentlicht am 02.06.2017.

Statistik


Marc Herter

Development as Spectacle: Understanding Post-War Urban Development in Colombo, Sri Lanka

The Case of Arcade Independence Square

Diese Studie untersucht die nachkriegszeitliche Stadtentwicklung in Colombo. Auf der Grundlage von Guy Debords Buch mit dem Titel Die Gesellschaft des Spektakels wird die Thematik der Neugestaltung der urbanen Landschaft als Konsumlandschaft einer postindustriellen Gesellschaft aufgegriffen. Im internationalen Standortwettbewerb um Ansehen und Geschäftsinvestitionen greifen Stadtplaner vermehrt auf Stararchitektur als Werkzeug zur Markenbildung eines Standorts zurück. So erhofft sich das nachkriegszeitliche Sri Lanka von den größten sozialen Herausforderungen betreffend ethnischer Segregation, Armut oder Ethno-Nationalismus mittels eines durch infrastrukturelle Großinvestitionen induzierten Wirtschaftswachstums ablenken zu können. Anhand von Arcade Independence Square, eines neu entwickelten luxuriösen Einkaufszentrums in Colombo, zeigt diese Studie auf, wie die Regierung mit ihrer nachkriegszeitlichen Stadtentwicklungsagenda von solchen Problemen abwenden will.

Marc Herter hat an der Universität Zürich Human- und Wirtschaftsgeographie studiert und mit seiner Forschungsarbeit zur nachkriegszeitlichen Stadtentwicklung in Colombo, Sri Lanka in der Abteilung Politische Geographie abgeschlossen. Ihn interessieren Themen mit Bezug zu Politischer Ökonomie, urbanen Landschaften, Stadtsoziologie und zum Verhältnis zwischen Macht und Architektur.