How to cite this title

Uprety, Hannah: Between Exploitation and Economic Opportunity?: Identities of Male Nepalese Labor Migrants in the Gulf Region, Heidelberg ; Berlin: CrossAsia-eBooks, 2016 (Geographien Südasiens, Vol. 4). DOI: 10.11588/xabooks.126.156

More citation styles
This work is licensed under a
Creative Commons License 4.0
(CC BY-SA 4.0)

978-3-946742-02-9 (PDF)

Published 07/15/2016.


Hannah Uprety

Between Exploitation and Economic Opportunity?

Identities of Male Nepalese Labor Migrants in the Gulf Region

Geographien Südasiens

In light of the upcoming FIFA world championship in Qatar, increasing international attention has turned to the large role of foreign workers in the rapid growth of many Gulf cities, as well as the often problematic working and living conditions of these laborers. Considerably less attention, however, has been given to the ‘other ends’ of those migration processes, namely the contexts from which these people originate and return to. One of these contexts is in Nepal, where hundreds of thousands of migrants leave the country each year in search of so-called low-skilled employment. In light of Nepal’s considerably small population and weak economy, these practices have an enormous impact on the country – both financially and in terms of the social and cultural transformations that go along with them. The thesis investigates how these mostly male migrants and their families navigate through transnational lifestyles and how their identities are transformed alongside them. By drawing on qualitative empirical research conducted in 2012, particular focus is put on the re-definition of relationships and intimacy in transnational family practices and the often conflictual and fragmented negotiation of migrant identities. Thereby, the publication provides not only insights into a particular Nepalese practice, but also contributes to the increasingly influential field of critical migration research.

For further information on the series please visit About the series.

Hannah Uprety is a PhD student currently working on the topic “The governmentality of migration. Discourses and practices of Nepalese low-skilled labor migration”, which is supported by Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes. She is also employed as an academic assistant at the Institute of Geography at the University of Münster, where she is particularly engaged in the Department of Political Geography / Social Geography.

Empfohlene Zitierweise

Uprety, Hannah: Between Exploitation and Economic Opportunity?: Identities of Male Nepalese Labor Migrants in the Gulf Region, Heidelberg ; Berlin: CrossAsia-eBooks, 2016 (Geographien Südasiens, Band 4). DOI: 10.11588/xabooks.126.156

Weitere Zitierweisen
Lizenz
Dieses Werk ist unter der
Creative Commons-Lizenz 4.0
(CC BY-SA 4.0)
veröffentlicht.
ISBN

978-3-946742-02-9 (PDF)

Veröffentlicht am 15.07.2016.

Statistik


Hannah Uprety

Between Exploitation and Economic Opportunity?

Identities of Male Nepalese Labor Migrants in the Gulf Region

Im Vorfeld der näher rückenden FIFA-Weltmeisterschaft in Katar wächst das mediale Interesse an der großen Rolle, die ausländische Arbeitskräfte für das rasante Wachstum der Golfstaaten-Metropolen spielen, und an den oft problematischen Arbeits- und Lebensbedingungen dieser Menschen. Deutlich weniger Aufmerksamkeit gilt jedoch dem ‚anderen Ende‘ dieser Migrationsprozesse, nämlich den Kontexten, aus denen diese Arbeiter kommen und in die sie später zurückkehren. Einer dieser Kontexte liegt in Nepal, wo jährlich hunderttausende Migranten das Land auf der Suche nach sogenannter niedrigqualifizierter Arbeit verlassen. Angesichts der vergleichsweise kleinen Bevölkerung und schwachen Wirtschaft Nepals haben diese Praktiken einen enormen Einfluss auf das Land – sowohl finanziell als auch hinsichtlich der sozialen und kulturellen Transformationen, die mit ihnen einhergehen. Die vorliegende Arbeit untersucht, wie sich diese meist männlichen Migranten und ihre Familien in transnationale Formen der Lebensführung einfinden und wie ihre Identitäten sich entlang dieses Prozesses verändern. Auf der Grundlage qualitativer empirischer Forschung aus dem Jahr 2012 liegt dabei ein besonderer Schwerpunkt auf der gesellschaftlichen (Neu-)Verhandlung von Beziehungen und Intimität im transnationalen Familienleben sowie der oft konfliktbeladenen und fragmentierten Aushandlung migrantischer Subjektivitäten. Auf diese Weise bietet die Arbeit nicht nur Einblicke in eine spezifische nepalesische Praxis, sondern reiht sich ein in eine zunehmend erstarkende kritische Migrationsforschung.

Weitere Informationen zur Reihe finden Sie HIER.

Hannah Uprety promoviert derzeit zum Thema „Die Gouvernementalität der Migration. Diskurse und Praktiken nepalesischer Arbeitsmigration im Niedriglohnbereich“ und wird dabei von der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes gefördert. Sie arbeitet zudem als wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft am Institut für Geographie der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster, wo sie insbesondere in der AG Politische Geographie / Sozialgeographie tätig ist.